Alabama driver license requirements

Document requirements and fees alabama law enforcement agency. General license requirements who needs an alabama driver license. The mab assists the director for public safety with the medical aspects of driver licensing. New residents will need to go to any of our fullservice driver service centers that are located throughout the state. Once you satisfactory complete your suspension conviction, you can request your alabama drivers license. You will be required to successfully pass a vision test, and. Id program to comply with the federal requirements of the realid act of 2005. Kay ivey and alabama law enforcement agency secretary hal taylor today urged alabama residents to obtain a more secure driver s license called a star id because of new requirements for air. If you would like to download the driver license manual, or learn about the documents required by the state dps office for new drivers or transferring your outofstate driver license, then visit the web site at the drivers license division, alabama department of public safety. Fort payne drivers license office of fort payne, alabama. Complete drivers ed or 30 hours of supervised driving. Like every other state, alabama requires that you be at least 16 years old to get your first drivers license.

All applicants who have not been licensed in alabama or whose alabama license has been expired for over three years must pass the required drivers. Alabama started requiring driver license info on their individual return filings a few years ago in an effort to reduce fraudulent filings. Consular report of birth abroad form fs240, ds50, or fs545. A record existing on the driver license database, as a result of a previously issued alabama driver license or alabama non driver identification card may be considered proof of birth date. Learners permit, restricted license, and unrestricted license. Youre 17 years old or older and have held a valid drivers license for at least 6 months without any traffic violations. Applicants must verify their identity and date of birth by providing one of the following documents. First, lets look at what youll need to do to meet your drivers license requirements. In addition to administering the written and road skills driver license examinations to commercial and noncommercial drivers, the division is responsible for the application of penalties that may result in. Drivers permit requirements in alabama are established for residents to determine their eligibility to apply for license privileges.

Driver licenses and id cards may be renewed or duplicates applied for at any of our four probate office locations. In addition, all other motor vehicle title, registration, ifta and irp transactions must be submitted electronically. If you are an alabama driver, or want to become one, you will need an alabama driver license. To start the process, you must complete and submit a request for reinstatement requirements. The first step toward receiving your alabama learners permit is studying the alabama drivers handbook, the latest version of which you will find on this page. You must have a printer in order to print your temporary license, permit or id card that is valid for 30 days from the transaction date.

Veteran driver license alabama department of veterans. You must present your driver s license if over 16 years of age. Plus, al driver licenses afford you easy photo identification for state and federal purposes. An alabama driver with a restricted license 16yearold drivers, as well as 17yearold. Graduated drivers license alabama department of public. Some uncited information comes from pre2004 surveys sent to the agency responsible for driver licensing in each state, and from a 2003 report on driver licensing and medical conditions prepared for the american association of motor vehicle administrators and the national highway traffic safety administration. See residency information below if you dont have a drivers license or have an al nondrivers id card.

If you want to get a restricted leaners license at 15yearsold, you must be enrolled in drivers ed. Alabama law grants a grace period of 60 days after the expiration date of a driver s license for the purpose of driver s license renewal and the driver s license shall be valid for this period of time, as long as the driver is in the state of alabama. You must be 16 years of age or older, you must be in good academic standing, and you must hold a learners license for at least six months or until your 18 th birthday. Applying for an alabama driver license or nondriver identification card cdl or cdl learner license applicants. First, lets look at what youll need to do to meet your drivers license. In addition to the regular driver license renewal requirements, if you are 79 years of age or older you will be required to renew your driver license inperson at your local driver license office. It consists of at least 18 members, with the chairman elected on an annual basis. Procedure for obtaining drivers license madison county, al. An alabama driver s license may be renewed without examination within a 3 year period after. License holders from other countries and us territories may be eligible for an alabama license if their country or territory has education requirements substantially equivalent to alabama license requirements. You must now await the dps response for the next steps toward your drivers license reinstatement. Any person whos driving rights or privilege is suspended or revoked in any state.

Instructions for new or returning tennessee resident. Outofstate license applicants must apply at the drivers license test center at 1115 church street between the hours of 8am to 4. You need your outofstate license, social security card and birth. The class m license shows that the driver is allowed to operate a motorcycle.

License fees shown above are subject to change and will be slightly higher in counties where local legislation permits a higher fee. Nov 01, 2011 alabama driver license for tax return filing requirements. Visual acuity visual fields color vision requirement restricted licenses. There are a few different costs associated with obtaining an alabama driving license, depending on what you are interested in getting. The legal age to obtain a learner license is fifteen 15, and a driver license is sixteen 16. Alabamadriverlicensefortaxreturnfilingrequirements. Alabama nondriver identification card or alabama vessel license. Valid driver s license not expired or has been expired less than 60 days alabama law enforcement agency digital driver s license.

A person must have a minimum uncorrected no glasses or contacts visual acuity of 2040 to qualify for an unrestricted drivers license. Federal agencies can accept driver s licenses and identification cards from alabama at federal facilities and nuclear power plants. Identification card class d learner license class d motor driven cycle vessel license cdl class a unrestricted cdl class b unrestricted cdl class b restricted cdl class c. Alabama driver license requirements laws and legislative. An alabama drivers license may be renewed without examination within a 3 year period after. Dec 19, 2018 it also covers a nondrivers identification card. Alabama does have whats known as a graduated driver licensing program. Alabamadriverlicensefortaxreturnfilingrequirements26698. To download the application for a free photo voter id, click here. Your first alabama driver s license is an exciting and important milestone towards independence. Licensed financial institutions submit a copy of their title 5, chapter 19, state banking license or equivalent. Star id drivers license required for air travelers by oct.

To apply for your new alabama drivers license, visit your nearest dps location and. You can walkin to any license agents to purchase your hunting and fishing licenses. Each eye withwithout correction both eyes withwithout correction. Eligibility for a drivers license in alabama is based on a few different factors. Since the process can sometimes be confusing for a firsttime driver, were here to help you through each step and get you behind the wheel safely and responsibly. At age 15, you can apply for a learners permit in the state of alabama. The following is a recap of the requirements for getting a license.

Sep 05, 2019 alabama is compliant with the real id act. New residents holding a valid learners permit from another state must meet separate requirements to obtain a tennessee learner permit or driver license. Federal agencies can accept drivers licenses and identification cards from alabama at federal facilities and nuclear power plants alabama law enforcement agency. All out of country applicants who meet the educational requirements are required to take the alabama written exam and practical exam. Driver license division is responsible for testing and maintaining records on alabama s licensed drivers. The required license and endorsements depend on the type of vehicle and materials being transported. A license and permit specialist will evaluate your responses provided at the time of your. Any person afflicted with or suffering from a physical or mental impairment which.

Your first alabama drivers license is an exciting and important milestone towards independence. Jan 16, 2019 reinstating your alabama suspended license. All laws and regulations related to an alabama driver license and non driver. To save you a considerable amount of time, here is a step by step guide that you will need to follow to get a driver license in alabama. Then, shares what youll do when upgrading the learners permit into a full alabama drivers license. See residency information below if you dont have a driver s license or have an al non driver s id card. Youll need to have your learners permit for a minimum of 6 months and complete the above training requirements before you can.

All other transactions must be handled through the state of alabama, department of public safety, 1040 coliseum blvd. Secure driver s licenses and identification documents are a vital component of a holistic national security strategy. Kay ivey and alabama law enforcement agency secretary hal taylor today urged alabama residents to obtain a more secure drivers license called a star id because of new requirements for air. If you satisfy these requirements, visit your local driver license office and exchange. The requirements for both the learners and drivers license are the same. The good news is that most people with diabetes can safely drive motor vehicles. Before beginning the process of obtaining your license, there are requirements in place that you must fulfill beforehand for both the alabama learner s permit as well as the official drivers license. Alabama law grants a grace period of 60 days after the expiration date of a drivers license for the purpose of drivers license renewal and the drivers license shall be valid for this period of time, as long as the driver is in the state of alabama. If you would like to drive in al, you will need an alabama drivers license. Alabama has a graduated drivers license gdl law which includes three stages.

Alabama department of public safety driver license division po box 1471 montgomery, al 361021471. New drivers must prove adherence to these standards in order to receive valid permits. Valid, unexpired permanent resident card form i551 issued. These applications must be mailed to the motor vehicle division. Alabama national highway traffic safety administration. The exam for the state of alabama motorcycle license is available at the link posted above. It is vitally important that all alabama citizens participate in the 2020 census to maintain congressional representation, improve roads and bridges, health care and so much more. The minimum age requirements for alabama driver license and nondriver identification cards are as follows. Driver license information alabama law enforcement agency. Licensed alabama motor vehicle dealers must have a current dealer license. An alabama drivers license or state id may be renewed at any mobile county license commissioner office. Star id document list alabama law enforcement agency. The ability to drive gives personal freedom and lets people to get to jobs, schools and stores. The regulations also cover violations and convictions that can result in the loss of commercial driving privileges.

For many people with diabetes, driving is a central part of daily life. The office of driver services performs a vision screening test for acuity and visual fields on all drivers renewing their licenses. Every alabama resident who operates any motor vehicle except a farm tractor or implement of husbandry temporarily upon any street or. Find out the steps to get your al drivers license, pass your dmv written test, replace your outofstate license and the required paperwork to bring to the dmv office to get your driver s license. Once the teen driver has passed the exam, he will be issued a class m drivers license.

You will have to pass a knowledge test, vision test, and a road skills test. A voter can use any of the following forms of photo id at the polls starting june 3, 2014. Alabama is one of a number of states that has a graduated driver licensing program in place. Teens, starting at 15 years old, can begin getting their learners permit stage 2. Obtaining an alabama learners license you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learners license. If you have a valid outofstate license, you will take an eye test only.

Feb 11, 2019 the following is a recap of the requirements for getting a license. State vision screening and standards for license to drive. Can you get an alabama drivers license online in 2019. For additional questions please contact the motor vehicle division at 3342429000. How to get a drivers license in alabama driver knowledge. The state of alabama does not require you to obtain a learners permit if you meet any of the following conditions. It will replace your drivers license and must be renewed every four years. Alabama driver information this page provides information about vehicle, driver, and document requirements, state regulations, insurance coverage, and cityspecific requirements, needed to drive with lyft in the state of alabama. Since may 1, 20, alabama veterans have had the option of displaying proof of military service on their driver licenses. Every alabama resident who operates any motor vehicle must have a driver license. Veteran driver license alabama department of veterans affairs. The clock is ticking towards the deadline for alabamas star id heres what you need to know about star id and how it could change travel in the future.

This page will cover the alabama driver license requirements for residence. The mab assists the medical unit, which may be reached at 334 2424239. Failure to meet state eligibility rules is grounds for license request denial. Alabama star id soon required for travel and access to. The clock is ticking towards the deadline for alabama s star id heres what you need to know about star id and how it could change travel in the future. In order to be eligible, you must have never been licensed to operate a vehicle or be a new resident of alabama who has been licensed in another state, but your driver s license has been expired for longer than six months. You and your parent or guardian need to visit your local driver exam office with a state. Research alabama tax rules specific to motor vehicle division. Alabama drivers license application and renewal 2020.

Any person working for the us federal government while driving a motor vehicle owned or leased by the us federal government. Whether youll be facing the more crowded streets of cities like birmingham or small town thoroughfares in spots like bay minette, knowing the rules of the alabama roadways starts here with the state handbook. In order to be eligible, you must have never been licensed to operate a vehicle or be a new resident of alabama who has been licensed in another state, but your. Alabama drivers license guide free dmv practice test. All applicants for any type of alabama driver license or non driver identification card must meet the age requirements relevant to the license or permit. If you are 18 or older, you can get an unrestricted license without holding a learners permit.

Secure drivers licenses and identification documents are a vital component of a holistic national security strategy. You must present your drivers license if over 16 years of age. Find out the steps to get your al drivers license, pass your dmv written test, replace your outofstate license and the required paperwork to bring to the dmv office to get your drivers license. You must have a valid drivers license to operate a motor vehicle on public roadways in alabama. Valid drivers license not expired or has been expired less than 60 days alabama law enforcement agency digital drivers license. The motor vehicle division is responsible for the issuance of vehicle titles, maintenance of vehicle records, the administration of the mandatory liability insurance law, and the issuance of motor vehicle regulatory licenses.

1440 159 1316 843 971 431 839 1507 1264 956 546 482 1497 1358 1153 787 532 760 683 1354 829 891 1283 1285 1545 1042 906 223 305 165 818 1002 1116 896 1334 482 838 253 314 931 652 953 949 850 227 549